Sewvivor-Merritts Makes

 

For those who don’t know me, I’m Nicole and I’ve decided to enter this edition of Sew-vivor. I have decided to audition with the first quilt that I completely designed, pieced, quilted, and bound by myself. I’ve named it Chasing Bubbles.

IMG_8316 I struggled to come up with a name for this quilt until seeing a group of toddlers playing with bubbles. Most of the children still had a little difficulty catching the bubbles but sometimes, the split second where they would catch and pop a bubble seemed almost magical. The random placement of the blocks and minimal nature of the quilt seems to mimic that magical moment.

IMG_8317

Sometimes, when a bubble is popped it appears to expand and quickly disappear. I attempted to quilt my Chasing Bubbles quilt in a manner that would mimic the popping of a bubble. I chose simple, randomly spaced straight lines for a majority of the quilt. For interest, I quilted what I call phantom blocks that mimic the shape of the already pieced blocks. The pieced and phantom blocks are filled with tight pebble quilting. The pieced blocks represent the bubbles themselves while the phantom blocks mimic the bubbles that have been popped and seem to expand and disappear. My intent with the quilting was to add interest while keeping with the minimal nature of the quilt.

IMG_8320

This quilt was designed with the intent of making a pattern which uses an entire Moda mini charm pack. Look for a tutorial to come in the near future. It will be on the Suppose blog within the Use It Up series. The mini charm packs include 42 squares each measuring 2.5″. The quilt features a mini charm called Simply Style by V. and Co. The background fabric is a Free Spirit Designer Essentials Linen in Sunny.  As I mentioned earlier, this is the first quilt which I have completed and long-arm quilted entirely by myself. I’m pleased with the way it turned out and feel it represents me well.

IMG_8322

Thanks for stopping by. I hope you’ve enjoyed your visit to the blog.

Before I go, I’d just like to give a little shout out to Jo for taking these pictures. I couldn’t have done it without her!

3 thoughts on “Sewvivor-Merritts Makes

Leave a Reply

